Головна » 2010 » Березень » 25 » CEDAW Committee Elections 2010 - Call to Take Action Now!
CEDAW Committee Elections 2010 - Call to Take Action Now!
CEDAW Committee Elections 2010 - Call to Take Action Now!
Voting by States parties is 28 June 2010 during the States parties Meeting.
The CEDAW Convention is the only UN human rights treaty that focuses specifically on gender issues. In this regard, it is important that the all twenty-three experts of the CEDAW Committee have an understanding of the realities of women's lives.

We urge you to get involved in the election process in order to ensure that candidates with feminist principles, a strong grounding in the issues and contexts related to women's lives, who will work towards the greater accountability of state parties to women's human rights and who recognise the role for civil society in the implementation of CEDAW are represented on the Committee.


As of March 9th the nomination list has closed. 24 States have nominated men and women to fill 11 vacancies in the Committee. Of the 11 members of the Committee whose terms are expiring in 2010, three are from Asia-Pacific, two are from Western Europe, two from Eastern Europe and four are from Africa. This will give you a rough idea as to the distribution of vacancies, and how, in this regard, more advocacy will be required in some regions.

On June 28, 2010 , official representatives of all the States parties to CEDAW will be electing 11 members of the Committee that will serve from January 2011 to December 2014.

The 24 nominees are: Ms. Ayse Feride ACAR (Turkey), Ms. Fadheela AL-MAHROOS (Bahrain), Mr. Ahmed AL MUKHAINI (Oman), Ms. Olinda BAREIRO-BOBADILLA (Paraguay), Ms. Joyce BAYANDE MBONGO ENDELEY (Cameroon), Ms. Meriem BELMIHOUB-ZERDANI (Algeria) Ms. Valentina BODRUG-LUNGU (Moldova), Ms. Dorcas COKER-APPIAH (Ghana) Ms. Mary Shanthi DAIRIAM, (Malaysia), Ms. Julia Lorena FRIES MONLE?N (Chile), Ms. Naela Mohamed GABR (Egypt) ; Ms. Ruth HALPERIN-KADDARI (Israel) ,Ms. Yoko HAYASHI (Japan), Ms. Samith HOU (Cambodia) Ms. Rassolguessida Cl?mence ILBOUDO SAWADOGO (Burkina Faso), Ms. Grace KYOMUHENDO-BANTEBYA (Uganda), Ms. Violeta NEUBAUER (Slovenia) Ms. Pramila PATTEN (Mauritius) Ms. Maria Helena Lopes de Jesus PIRES (Timor-Leste) , Ms. Sapana PRADHAN-MALLA (Nepal) , Ms. Patricia SCHULZ (Switzerland), Ms. Dubravka ?IMONOVIC (Croatia) , Ms. Amaryllis TORRES (Philippines) and Ms. Judit WIRTH (Hungary).

Further information on all candidates to be considered this year (CVs) can be found at:


For further information about the election process, go to:

For general information on the CEDAW Committee go to:


Now that the nomination list has closed, the next stage is to ensure that candidates that fulfill the criteria will be elected by the States parties. You can help with this by contacting progressive representatives of your government in your home country or in New York (UN Mission representative/Ministry of Foreign Affairs), and let them know that women's groups and women's rights advocates globally want independent experts from all over the world to be elected to the Committee. Please let them know that they are responsible for ensuring that the CEDAW Committee process continues to strengthen national efforts towards the realisation of women's rights. In some cases, it would be useful to send a letter stating what you know of the existing nominees and give reasons as to why you are recommending specific names to be considered (both in your region and in others).

IWRAW Asia Pacific
E-mail: iwraw-ap@iwraw-ap.org
Website: http://www.iwraw-ap.org/

Переглядів: 881 | Додав: Flv | Рейтинг: 0.0/0 |
Всього коментарів: 0
Добавлять комментарии могут только зарегистрированные пользователи.
[ Реєстрація | Вхід ]
Середа, 21.02.2018, 09:08
Вітаю Вас Гость


Новини музею [60]
Акції та звернення [51]
16 днів проти насильства [20]
Всесвітня кампанія
100-річчя 8 березня [7]
Жіночі сторінки історії [10]
календар знаменних та пам’ятних дат
Новини Всеукраїнської мережі Центрів гендерної освіти ВНЗ [46]


Календар новин

«  Березень 2010  »



Онлайн всього: 2
Гостей: 2
Користувачів: 0